April 21 – Polite Company

Standard

Here’s another post from the archives, which matches today’s prompt.

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with
people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree? – Source

I’ve always been told this, but I don’t think it’s like that. There are shades of gray when it comes to this question.

If I were to start talking with someone about religion, I’d be the first to say that I try not to judge people by their religion. I’ve been brought up to believe that the only diety was God. Now, I’m not so sure.

There are so many religions out there… Christianity (the cult of Cristiano Ronaldo… :D), Buddhism, Islamism, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Pastafarians, Mormons, Scientology, and many more. Most of them teach have one common teaching, that of Love.

I know for a fact that Christianity and Islamism are called Abrahamic religions, along with Judaism and others. If they all share the same principle, that of Love, should there really be any reason for judgement? No, there shouldn’t.

It’s a very limiting view, at least for me, when people talk about someone they know not following the One True God. I’d dwell into that, but that’s another matter entirely.

Regarding politics, I just don’t say anything, I just politely nod and say non-commital agreement words like, Hm-mm, Yeah, and the like.

Something on your mind?

