January 4 – Quote Me

Standard

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and
again? What is it, and why does it move you?

A quote, you say? I have a few. If there is a situation where I think a quote applies, I will not hesitate to say it.

But one quote that I keep going to, whether needed or not, is a quote from Doctor Who. Two quotes, actually.

One of them is from the Tenth Doctor, in the episode End of Time Part 2:

The Doctor: There’s an old Earth saying, Captain. A phrase of great power and wisdom and consolation to the soul in times of need.

Addams: What’s that then?

The Doctor: Allons-y!

This quote, for me, and I think most Whovians will agree with me, tells me that whenever things get rough, but there’s still a chance to make things right, we should take that chance.

The other one is from the Eleventh Doctor, in the episode The Almost People.

“I am and always will be the optimist, the hoper of far-flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams.”

This quote tells us that the Doctor, at least this Doctor, sees the best in everyone and everything, much like we should, and that we should look for the best outcome in every endeavor.

I’m feeling generous, you know? 3 more quotes! Hooray.

This one is from the episode The Satan Pit. The Doctor is face to face with the origin of the notion of evil, locked in shackles in a planet in constant gravitational pull around a black hole. A scientific impossibility.

The Doctor: [about Rose] I’ve seen fake gods and bad gods and demigods and would-be gods; out of all that, out of that whole pantheon, if I believe in one thing… just one thing… I believe in her.

This quote shows the amount of blind trust the Doctor has on Rose. I hope I can trust someone like that, one day… It’s not any surprise that the Doctor and Rose ar… oops, spoilers…

This one is from the episode The Rings of Ahkaten.

The Doctor: I walked away from the Last Great Time War. I marked the passing of the Time Lords. I saw the birth of the universe, and I watched as time ran out, moment by moment, until nothing remained. No time, no space – just me. I’ve walked in universes where the laws of physics were devised by the mind of a madman! I’ve watched universes freeze and creations burn! I have seen things you wouldn’t believe! I have lost things you will never understand! And I know things. Secrets that must never be told, knowledge that must never be spoken, knowledge that will make parasite gods blaze! SO, COME ON, THEN! TAKE IT! TAKE IT ALL, BABY! HAVE IT! YOU HAVE IT ALL!!

This quote shows that the Doctor has seen things and knows things that would be left forgotten…

Another one from the Eleventh Doctor (this Doctor has so many good quotes) from the episode Vincent and the Doctor. Yes, Vincent Van Gogh.

The Doctor: The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice versa the bad things don’t always spoil the good things or make them unimportant.

This quote should be self-explanatory, but the last one will make you cry.

This is not a quote from the Doctor. We Whovians think that way. This is Matt Smith’s last line as The Doctor.

The Doctor: It all just disappears, doesn’t it? Everything you are, gone in a moment, like breath on a mirror. Any moment now… He’s a-comin’.

Clara: Who’s coming?

The Doctor: The Doctor.

Clara: You. You are the Doctor.

The Doctor: Yep, and I always will be. [his hand starts glowing] But times change, and so must I. [From the Doctor’s perspective, young Amelia Pond runs past him, the TARDIS walls covered with drawings of the Eleventh Doctor and his adventures] Amelia!

Clara: Who’s Amelia?

The Doctor: The first face this face saw. We all change. When you think about it, we’re all different people all through our lives, and that’s okay, that’s good, you gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be. I will not forget one line of this. Not one day. I swear. I will always remember when the Doctor was me.[A vision of adult Amy walks down the stairs. They touch each other’s faces]

Amy: Raggedy man… Goodnight.[The vision of Amy is gone. The Doctor takes off his bow tie and drops it on the floor]

Clara: No, no, no!

The Doctor: “Hey…” [the Doctor extends his glowing hand to her]

Clara: Please don’t change. [The Doctor abruptly regenerates.]

*sobs* Basically, the gist of this speech is that we all are different versions of ourselves all throughout our lives. And we have to keep in mind who we were, because only that shows how far we’ve come.

Thank you for reading, and see you tomorrow.

Something on your mind?

