21-Day Writing Challenge

Standard

Last month, I read somewhere that it takes 21 days for a habit to sink into the brain. I also read it was a lie, it takes about 2-3 months for that to happen. But I thought: 21 days is almost a month. If I can extend it towards the 1-month mark, it’d be easier to reach 2, maybe 3, months.

So I took it upon myself to do something I named the 21-Day Writing Challenge.

What I did (yes, did, by the time I wrote this, the challenger was successfully over) was, I wrote a little bit every day, about a different topic. I’d write no more than one page on an A6 notepad (that’s about the size of your hand). But there are rules, without rules we become savages.

The rules were:

1 – Once written, it becomes locked. This forbids me from adding content to a text, no matter how awesome I think it might be.

2 – No do-overs or rewrites. There were days when I didn’t have a topic or the text didn’t come out right. This forbids me from starting anew.

3 – Stick to the topic. Self-explanatory. So I don’t get over excited with a sub-topic that might arise, and go over my self-imposed limit.

All of the topics were written on one day. The day they were written will be the supposed date of publish, but all of the texts were published today, December 22nd, 2014.

I hope you like this, and if it inspires to make your own challenge of this kind, then I consider this a success. I kind of already do, I wrote for 21 consecutive days. Life achievement!

WOW-WoD - Achiev

Here’s a table for easy access:

December 2014

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Something on your mind?

