About a Specific Girl

Standard

Listening to/a ouvir: Bon Jovi – You Had Me From Hello

I wanted to call this post About a Girl1, but I might get into legal problems.

This text was written in Portuguese and in English.


You may not know what it’s like to be 2 inches away from something or someone you want and be too much of a coward to just take her hand and say “I like you.” I tried that in the past, didn’t go so well.

The moment described above happened last year. For 50 hours, I could hang out with her, talk to her, just have fun with her; all of this while learning Spanish. It was a twofer2.

After those 50 hours, my interactions with her were drastically cut to 15-30 minutes a day on some days. If there was anything left to say, it ended up unsaid.

I like this girl, but I can’t say that I love her. What I can say is that, given the chance, I would work towards that goal.

Just once, I’d like to approach a situation like this, guns blazing; forgetting all of the past lessions I’ve learned the hard way, ignoring all of the unfavorable outcomes of my actions, and utterly disregarding what people think of me. Simply arrive, and with resolute steps, approach her and kiss her.

Maybe one day…


Vocês podem não saber o que é estar a 10 centímetros de algo ou alguém que querem e ser demasiado cobarde para agarrar na mão dela e dizer “Eu gosto de ti.” Tentei isso no passado, não correu muito bem.

O momento descrito acima teve lugar o ano passado.

Durante 50 horas, eu pude estar com ela, falar com ela e divertir-me com ela. Tudo isto enquanto aprendia Espanhol. É o chamado 2-em-1.

Após essas 50 horas, as minhas interacções com ela foram drasticamente reduzidas para 15-30 minutos, em dias em que os horários permitiam. Se havia alguma coisa que ficou por dizer, ficou por dizer.

Eu gosto desta rapariga, mas não posso dizer que a amo. O que posso dizer é que, se me fosse dada a oportunidade, trabalharia para essae objectivo.

Nem que fosse por uma só vez, gostaria de abordar uma situação destas, de armas em punho; esquecendo todas as lições do passado aprendidas a custo, ignorando todos os resultados não favoráveis das minhas acções, e desprezando totalmente o que as pessoas pensam de mim. Só -chegar lá, e com passos determinados, aproximar-me dela e beijá-lá.

Talvez um dia…


  1. About a Girl is a song by the band Nirvana. 
  2. something that satisfies two criteria or needs simultaneously. 
Something on your mind?

