The Elder Scrolls Online – My experience

Standard

It is not everyday that you get to immerse yourself into a new world that makes you giggle with excitement like a little girl the first time you see it… I have had that experience for the past 3 days.

It’s an experience that will leave you speechless for a good 10 seconds. After those 10 seconds, all you’ll be able to say is, “Holy crap, it’s so beautiful!” It’s something rather unique. Due to my video options, objects located outside my field of vision do not exist or exist in very small detail. It is only as you approach them that you can fully grasp the beauty of the textures of this world…

But don’t let this world’s beauty fool you. All sorts of bugs roam the lands of Tamriel. Some of these bugs can be destroyed with a few lines of code. Well, technically, both types of bug can be killed by tampering with the game’s source code.

There are bugs that simply make you go “What? This is it?” and there are bugs that make you go “Oh, come on!” But I can tell you this, I’m quite confident that these bugs will not be present at launch.

The version I played was, by no means, the version available at launch. The guys at Zenimax Online Studios just wanted to test the endurance of their North American megaserver.

Now, the question some want me to ask and answer: will I buy the game? From what I’ve seen, it’s a delightful game. It was simply breathtaking, as these images will prove. But I will not stand in line to get a copy of this game. At least, not until I’m sure that some of the bugs present in the beta sessions I was a part of do not exist anymore.

Screenshot_20140228_172531

A month after I left, I returned…

Screenshot_20140301_223154

The top of the Floating Castle Aincrad is present on Tamriel!

But you should not let my opinion cloud your judgement. If you want to pre-order the game, just follow this link, which leads directly to the store page. After that, just follow the on-screen instructions.

See you in a while, in Tamriel.

One thought on “The Elder Scrolls Online – My experience

Something on your mind?

